Lytras wins Supersport 300 race three as Stauffer earns the overall

Final outing serves up thrilling finish at Phillip Island.

Image: Russell Colvin.

John Lytras (Yamaha) has captured the final Supersport 300 race victory of the weekend at Phillip Island’s Motul Pirelli Australian Superbike Championship (ASBK) opener, while Max Stauffer broke through for the overall win.

In an incredibly close encounter that saw the top five cross the line within 0.139s of each other, it was Lytras who scraped through for the win, 0.037s ahead of Kawasaki-mounted Senna Agius.

A further 0.012s behind was third’s Luke Power (Yamaha), while Stauffer was just a mere 0.02s from grasping another podium finish after securing triumphs in races one and two.

The top five was rounded out by Hunter Ford (Yamaha), followed by Harry Khouri (Yamaha), Yannis Shaw (Kawasaki), Dylan Whiteside (Kawasaki), Seth Crump (KTM), and Travis Hall (Yamaha). Overall it was Stauffer from Lytras, Power, Agius and Khouri. The ASBK will now head to Wakefield Park in New South Wales on 22-24 March for round two of the seven-stop series.

Detailed results


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *