Dual Supersport 300 victories for Stauffer at Phillip Island

Mixed results across both outings in competitive category.

Image: Russell Colvin.

Yamaha’s Max Stauffer has claimed victorY in races one and two of the Supersport 300 category at Phillip Island’s opening round of the 2019 Motul Pirelli Australian Superbike Championship (ASBK).

Stauffer captured the win in race one by a slender 0.150s over Luke Power (Yamaha) following a interesting outing between the pair, while it was Senna Agius (Kawasaki) who closed out the top three, a further 4.733s off the leaders.

KTM-mounted Seth Crump crossed the line in P4 ahead of Harry Khouri (Yamaha), as the top 10 was completed by Hunter Ford (Yamaha), Zac Levy (Yamaha), Dylan Whiteside (Kawasaki), Callum O’Brien (Kawasaki BCperformance) and John Lytras (Yamaha).

Race two saw a mix of results, however Stauffer still narrowly controlled proceedings, as just 0.241s separated the first six riders. Behind Stauffer was Lyrtas ahead of O’Brien, while Khouri and Power were fourth and fifth respectively.

Positions six through to 10 were completed by Agius, Yannis Shaw (Kawasaki), Whiteside, Benjamin Baker (Yamaha) and Crump. The final Supersport 300 race will take place tomorrow.

Detailed results

Source: CycleOnline.com.au

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *